If you were hurt in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver, you might recover compensation for damages by filing an uninsured motorist claim. You could have several options for receiving money for your injuries.
Our Jacksonville uninsured motorist claim lawyers at Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers serve Jacksonville residents by providing legal advice and guidance for car accident claims and other personal injury matters. Since 2012, our lawyers have recovered millions of dollars in settlements and jury awards. With over 69 years of combined legal experience, our personal injury attorneys understand how to get results.
Contact our law office today at (904) 396-1100 to schedule your free consultation with one of our experienced Jacksonville car accident lawyers.
How Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help You With an Uninsured Accident Claim in Jacksonville, FL
Uninsured drivers cause thousands of dollars in damages and leave innocent victims on the hook for those costs. Our Jacksonville car accident attorneys work with you to pursue each legal cause of action to recover compensation after an auto accident.
When you hire Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers to handle your accident case, you can expect us to:
- Investigate the car accident to gather evidence proving that the other driver caused the crash
- Document your damages to determine the value of your injury claim
- File insurance claims and work to settle those claims for maximum limits
- Handle all paperwork and settlement negotiations
- Monitor the statute of limitations for filing deadlines
- File a lawsuit and advocate for you at trial if needed
We’re here to help you when an uninsured driver causes your car accident. Contact our law office to schedule a free case review with our Jacksonville uninsured motorist claim attorneys.
Many People Drive Without Insurance Coverage In Florida
About one in eight drivers do not have car insurance coverage nationwide, according to a 2021 study by the Insurance Research Council. The estimated percentage of drivers without auto insurance in Florida was 20.4% in 2019.
Uninsured drivers cause problems for everyone. They cause insurance rates to increase for drivers who obey the law by having the required insurance coverage. Accident victims who deserve compensation for their injuries and damages may have little to no recourse unless they have uninsured motorist coverage.
Understanding Florida’s Requirements for Automobile Insurance Coverage
Florida insurance law requires drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in no-fault insurance, or Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. PIP pays for some of your economic damages, such as lost wages and medical bills. However, it does not compensate you for non-economic damages (pain and suffering).
However, if you sustain serious injuries in an accident caused by another driver, you can sue the at-fault driver for damages. The at-fault driver could be liable for all of your damages, including all loss of income and medical bills, plus non-economic damages.
Unfortunately, Florida does not require drivers to carry bodily injury liability insurance coverage for private vehicles. However, drivers convicted of driving under the influence must have liability insurance coverage for three years after reinstatement of their driver’s license.
Liability insurance compensates accident victims when a driver causes a car crash. However, if a driver does not have liability insurance, they are often unable to pay any damages awarded to you in a personal injury lawsuit.
How Does Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage Work in FL?
Many people carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage as part of their car insurance policy. Uninsured motorist coverage compensates you for damages caused by an uninsured driver or a hit and run driver. Your insurance company “stands in the shoes of” the at-fault driver.
After a car accident with an uninsured driver in Florida, your first step is to file a claim with your no-fault PIP coverage provider. If your damages exceed your PIP policy limits, you can file a claim with your uninsured motorist insurance provider. The insurance company will investigate your claim. If the other driver caused the car crash, your uninsured motorist insurance should cover your damages up to the policy limits.
However, you have the burden of proving fault and damages to recover money for your uninsured motorist claim. Furthermore, Florida’s comparative fault laws state that your compensation can be reduced if you are partially to blame for the cause of the crash.
Therefore, your insurance company may try to blame you for contributing to the cause of the crash to avoid paying the full value of your uninsured motorist claim.
What Should I Do After a Car Accident With an Uninsured Driver?
Report the car accident by calling 911 and wait for the police to arrive. You want an official police report to support your uninsured motorist claim. Seek medical treatment for your injuries immediately. Do not delay in seeking medical care.
File a claim with your no-fault insurance to recover benefits provided by your PIP policy. Document your damages and injuries. Be careful when speaking to representatives of the insurance company. Do not admit fault or provide information not requested.
As soon as possible, seek legal advice from an attorney. Even though you are dealing with your insurance provider, the claims adjuster will search for ways to deny or undervalue your insurance claim. Therefore, it is best to speak with an attorney before filing your uninsured motorist claim, if possible.
Schedule a Free Consultation At Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers With Our Auto Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL
Florida’s insurance laws can be confusing. Get help with an uninsured motorist claim by contacting our office to schedule a free consultation with a car accident lawyer in Jacksonville, FL. We will fight to get you maximum compensation for your injuries while you focus on recovering.
Our legal team also provides legal assistance in all types of car-related accidents in Jacksonville, including: