Driving Without a License Versus Driving Without a License on Your Person in Jacksonville, FL
You must have a valid driver’s license and have that license in your possession while operating a motor vehicle in Florida. If you do not have a driver’s license and the police stop you, or you have a car accident, you could be charged with one or more traffic offenses. The result could be fines and other penalties.
Operating a Motor Vehicle Without a Driver’s License in Jacksonville, FL
Florida Statute §322.03 prohibits individuals from operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. The reasons for driving without a driver’s license include, but are not limited to:
- The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles revoked or suspended their driving privileges
- They forgot their driver’s license when they left home
- The person did not renew their driver’s license when it expired
- They failed the required tests or requirements to obtain a driver’s license in Florida
- The person never applied for a Florida driver’s license
Excessive speeding, drunk driving, reckless driving, and other traffic offenses could result in the loss of driving privileges. Driving without a license is a second-degree misdemeanor. The punishment is a fine of $500 and up to 60 days in county jail.
Driving without a driver’s license on your person is a “correctable” traffic offense. You can appear at the Clerk of Court before your hearing date, pay a $5 fee, and present a driver’s license that was valid as of the date of the offense to resolve the matter.
Does Not Having a Driver’s License Change What Happens After a Traffic Accident?
Suppose you are involved in a traffic accident without a valid driver’s license. In that case, the police officer may charge you with driving without a driver’s license, in addition to other traffic offenses related to the accident. The same is true if the person who caused the car crash did not have a driver’s license.
However, failing to have a driver’s license does not change how you resolve a traffic accident. Both drivers should have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage required by Florida law.
Therefore, the drivers file insurance claims with their respective PIP carriers. Fault does not matter for a PIP insurance claim.
After a car crash, PIP insurance pays up to 80 percent of your necessary and reasonable medical expenses. You may also receive up to 60% of your lost wages if you cannot work because of your injuries. However, you must receive medical care within 14 days of the accident and meet the other requirements to receive PIP benefits.
If your driving privileges were suspended or revoked, your PIP carrier might challenge your claim. You should seek legal advice from a Jacksonville car wreck lawyer if your PIP claim is denied.
Can I Sue the Other Driver If One or Both of Us Were Driving Without a License?
Driving without a license does not bar you from filing a lawsuit against the driver who caused the car accident. If the other driver has liability insurance coverage, you can file an insurance claim with the driver’s insurance provider. You may also file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
However, your injuries must meet the serious injury threshold for filing a lawsuit. If you did not sustain serious injuries, your only recourse is to file a PIP claim with your insurance provider.
If you were injured by a hit-and-run driver or an uninsured driver, you could have a claim under your uninsured motorist coverage. Likewise, if the other driver’s liability insurance does not cover your damages, you could have a claim against your underinsured motorist coverage.
Florida automobile insurance can be confusing. If you are unsure whether you have a claim against another driver after a car accident, ask a lawyer for advice.
What Damages Can I Recover for a Car Accident Claim?
If the other driver caused the car crash and you sustained a serious injury, you could recover economic and non-economic damages for your:
- Medical bills and expenses
- Physical therapy and other therapies
- Nursing and/or personal care
- Loss of income and benefits
- Permanent impairments or disabilities
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress and mental anguish
- Loss of enjoyment of life and diminished quality of life
- Out-of-pocket expenses
- Property damage
The damages you could recover depend on the facts of your case. You must prove causation, fault, and liability before you can receive any money for a car accident in Jacksonville. The other driver may allege you are partially to blame for the cause of the accident. According to Florida’s contributory fault law, the compensation you receive for damages can be reduced by your percentage of fault.
Contact the Jacksonville Car Accident Law Firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Today For Help
For more information, please contact the Jacksonville and Ponte Vedra car accident law firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers at the nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve in Duval County, St, Johns County, and its surrounding areas:
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Jacksonville
9471 Baymeadows Rd #105,
Jacksonville, FL 32256, United States
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Ponte Vedra
480 Town Plaza Ave #130,
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32081