Window Tint Laws in Florida
Whether you like the aesthetic or you are looking for ways to tame the bright Florida sun, aftermarket window tinting for automobiles might be a customization that interests you. According to Grand View Research, the auto window tint industry was valued at over $3.5 billion in 2021.
While you may believe you are entitled to customize your vehicle any way you choose, Florida law limits the amount of tint you can legally place on your vehicle’s windows. Violating these laws can lead to a misdemeanor conviction. This can carry with it significant penalties, so it is best to know and abide by Florida’s window tint laws.
The Purpose Behind Window Tint Laws
Far from being an arbitrary intrusion on your right to personalize your property, Florida’s window tint laws have safety at their heart. Dark or reflective tint can be distracting for other drivers, increasing the risk of a motor vehicle accident, such as those involving a car or truck.
Additionally, windows that are tinted too dark make traffic stops more dangerous for law enforcement and motorists alike. If an officer is not able to see the interior of a vehicle they pulled over, the officer is likely to be more alert and nervous about potential dangers. Having a legal window tint reduces any anxiety an officer may have.
Window Tint Explained
When discussing window tint, there are two separate measurements that should be considered. The first measures the amount of visual light transmitted (VLT) through the window and tint. This is expressed as a percentage: the lower the percentage of VLT, the darker the tint and the less light that is transmitted.
There is also a measurement for a window tint’s reflectiveness — the amount of light that is reflected back by the tint. This is expressed as a percentage known as visible light reflected, or VLR. The higher the percentage of VLR, the more light is reflected by the tint.
Window Tint Laws for Sedans and Passenger Vehicles
Florida’s window tint laws relate to both VLT and VLR, and the limits for each will vary depending on whether the vehicle is a passenger car or an SUV, van, or similar vehicle. For passenger cars, the VLT and VLR limits are as follows:
- For the front windshield, you may place non-reflective (zero percent) tint above the AS-1 line near the top of the windshield
- Front side windows must have a VLT greater than 28 percent and a VLR less than 25 percent
- Rear side windows must have a VLT greater than 15 percent and a VLR less than 35 percent
- The rear window must have a VLT greater than 15 percent.
For SUVs, vans, and similar vehicles, the VLT and VLR limits are slightly different.
- You may place non-reflective tint on your front windshield above the AS-1 line
- Front-side windows must transmit more than 28 percent of light and reflect no more than 25 percent of light
- Rear side windows must have a VLT greater than six percent and a VLR of less than 35 percent
- The rear window should allow more than six percent of light transmission
These are the minimum standards required by law. A law enforcement officer can pull you over if it appears your window tint violates these restrictions.
Penalties for Window Tint Violations
It is important to keep these limitations in mind, as a conviction for violating them can carry serious consequences. A window tint violation is a second-degree misdemeanor, which means you could face a fine of up to $500. You can also be sentenced to up to 60 days in jail and serve six months on probation.
Fortunately, by keeping up with Florida law, you can legally add window tint to your vehicle’s windows without fear of repercussion.
Contact the Jacksonville Car Accident Law Firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Today For Help
For more information, please contact the Jacksonville and Ponte Vedra car accident law firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers at the nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve Duval County, St. Johns County, and its surrounding areas:
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Jacksonville
9471 Baymeadows Rd #105,
Jacksonville, FL 32256
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Ponte Vedra
480 Town Plaza Ave #130,
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32081