Call Today for a Free Consultation(904) 396-1100
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers - Injury Law Firm in Jacksonville, FL

A Guide to Florida Car Insurance 

Get a free consultation
A Guide to Florida Car Insurance 

If you were involved in a car accident, dealing with your financial losses, physical injuries, and emotional suffering can be overwhelming. While the aftermath of a car accident can be challenging to navigate, understanding car insurance in Florida can help you be better prepared. 

An experienced car accident lawyer can help you navigate the Florida car insurance process and seek full compensation for your injuries and other losses. 

What Are the Minimum Requirements for Florida Car Insurance? 

A Guide to Florida Car Insurance 

To register a vehicle in Florida, you are required to show proof that you carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance. You must have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance and $10,000 in PDL insurance. 

If your vehicle is registered as a Taxi, you must carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per accident, and $50,000 in PDL insurance. 

You are required to maintain at least minimum auto insurance, even if your car is not being driven. 

How Does the No-Fault System Work? 

Florida is a no-fault state for car accidents. This means that when a collision occurs, you must first turn to your own insurer, regardless of who is at fault for the crash. Your own insurance company is then responsible for paying for your property damage, medical bills, and more. However, there are limits to the benefits provided under Florida’s no-fault system. 

The following may be covered through PIP insurance

  • 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury 
  • $5,000 in death benefits  
  • 60 percent of lost income and loss of earning capacity 

If your injuries are significant and your medical bills exceed the PIP insurance limits, you may be left wondering how to manage the financial burden. 

When Can You Pursue Compensation Outside of the No-Fault System? 

You can pursue compensation outside of the no-fault system if any of the following occurs: 

  • Significant and permanent loss of an important bodily function
  • Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability 
  • Significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement 
  • Death 

In a personal injury lawsuit, you may be able to recover compensation for the following: 

  • Medical bills 
  • Property damage 
  • Reduced earning capacity
  • Out-of-pocket expenses 
  • Lost wages 
  • Physical therapy
  • Rehabilitation 
  • Pain and suffering 
  • Mental anguish 
  • Loss of consortium 
  • Emotional distress 
  • Reduced quality of life 

A skilled car accident attorney can help you pursue all available compensation for your economic and non-economic losses. 

What Should You Do if You’re Involved in a Collision in Florida?

Car accident scenes can be stressful and chaotic. However, knowing what to do in these unexpected moments can help you be prepared for the aftermath of a car crash. 

Take the following steps after a collision in Florida: 

  • Contact law enforcement to report the crash 
  • Get medical attention immediately 
  • Exchange information with the other drivers involved 
  • Take photos and videos of the accident scene and visible injuries 
  • Document what occurred at the accident scene, road conditions, and any inclement weather
  • Obtain witness statements 
  • Notify your insurance company of the accident 
  • Consult an experienced car accident attorney

Even though Florida maintains a no-fault system for car accidents, it is crucial not to admit fault. If you subsequently pursue a personal injury claim, fault may become an issue as Florida is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that you can be barred from recovering compensation in court if you are more than 50% to blame for the crash. If you are less than 51% responsible for the accident, your damages will be reduced in proportion to your share of the fault. 

How Long Do You Have to File a Lawsuit After a Car Accident?

If you sustain significant injuries and need to recover compensation, you only have a limited time to bring your claim. In Florida, you only have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident occurs. If a loved one dies due to a collision, you also have two years to bring a wrongful death claim. If you fail to file your lawsuit before the statute of limitations expires, you can be barred from recovering compensation through the court. 

A seasoned personal injury attorney can help you keep track of critical deadlines in your car accident case while you focus on recovering from your injuries. 

How Can a Car Crash Lawyer Help With Your Accident Claim? 

Florida car insurance can be complicated to deal with, but you don’t have to face it alone. Hiring a car accident attorney who is familiar with Florida car insurance laws can be immensely helpful to your case. 

A car crash lawyer can help with your accident claim in various ways, including the following: 

  • Conduct an investigation into your claim
  • Identify who may be liable for your damages 
  • Gather and analyze relevant evidence
  • Handle communications with the insurance company and defense attorneys
  • Assess the full extent of your damages 
  • Combat claims that you’re at fault for the crash 
  • Ensure you comply with applicable deadlines 
  • Negotiate for a fair settlement agreement 
  • Take your case to trial if necessary 

A car accident attorney can help protect your rights and help you pursue the full compensation you deserve from the insurance company or at-fault party. 

Contact Our Jacksonville Car Accident Lawyers for Help With a Florida Car Insurance Claim

If you were injured in a car accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries and other losses. Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers has remained committed to helping accident victims get the justice they deserve since opening our law firm in 2012. In doing so, we have recovered tens of millions of dollars in compensation for our injured clients. Our legal team also has over 80 years of combined experience working in personal injury law.

Contact our law office today to learn more about your legal options and how our Jacksonville car accident attorneys can help you navigate Florida car insurance and the aftermath of a collision. 

Call Now Button