Were you injured on the job in Jacksonville, FL? You may be entitled to recover damages through the Florida workers’ compensation insurance system or by filing a lawsuit against a negligent third party. An experienced Jacksonville workplace accident lawyer at Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers can help you explore all legal options for recovering the full compensation you deserve.
Our top-rated lawyers have over 60 years of experience protecting the rights of injured workers. We’ve already recovered tens of millions of dollars for accident victims across Northeast Florida.
Workplace injuries can disrupt your life in many different ways. Contact our Jacksonville, Florida law offices at (904) 396-1100 to schedule a free consultation if you have questions about your right to compensation.
How Can Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Help After a Workplace Accident in Jacksonville?
It’s always possible that you might get hurt on the job. When you’re hurt, you’ll probably need money to stay afloat while you recover. You also deserve to hold the responsible parties accountable.
Unfortunately, getting money in your pocket can be a challenge. You’re entitled to workers’ comp–but how do you know whether you’re getting the full amount you deserve? An experienced personal injury attorney in Jacksonville, FL can make a huge difference.
At Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers, we’ve been handling cases like yours for decades. We’ve seen it all–and we know how to help you maximize your compensation.
You can count on our attorneys to:
- Investigate your accident
- Explore all options for recovering compensation
- Assess your case value
- Help with any challenges to your workers’ comp claim
- Handle all paperwork and legal issues
- Negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf
Our lawyers are among the 5% of all lawyers in Florida to be rated by Super Lawyers. We also have an AV Preeminent rating from Martindale-Hubbell. Most importantly, we’ve helped countless clients secure the financial compensation they need.
Ready to learn more? Call our Jacksonville personal injury attorneys for a free initial consultation today.
How Common Are Workplace Accidents in Jacksonville, FL?
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), about 2.7 million non-fatal workplace injuries and illnesses were reported across the United States in 2020. 4,764 people were killed in fatal workplace accidents that year.
In Florida alone, 275 fatal workplace accidents were reported to the BLS. While it’s true that many work-related injuries in Florida happen in dangerous factories or on construction sites, a work accident can have many different causes, including:
- Auto accidents and other motor vehicle accidents
- Slip and fall accidents
- Fishing accidents
- Welding accidents
- Accidents caused by falling objects
- Accidents involving cranes, forklifts and heavy machinery
- Scaffolding accidents
- Falls from heights
- Manufacturing accidents
- Construction site accidents
- Fires and explosions
- Electrocution accidents
- And more
61,982 workers’ compensation claims were filed across the state of Florida alone in 2021. Florida workers’ compensation insurance companies paid over $848 million in benefits to those workers. In Duval County, workers’ compensation paid out nearly $38 million in benefits during 2021.
Our workers’ compensation attorneys in Jacksonville will help you pursue every dollar you deserve if you were injured on the job. Just call our law firm to schedule a free case evaluation to get started.
What is My Jacksonville Workplace Accident Case Worth?
The value of your work accident claim depends on the unique circumstances of your case. One of the most important factors is whether you’re limited to workers’ compensation.
The value of your workers’ comp benefits will depend on:
- Your average weekly earnings prior to the accident
- The length of your recovery
- Whether you’re totally disabled or able to work in a limited capacity
- The cost of your medical treatment
Your weekly workers’ compensation check will cover about ⅔ of your average weekly wages prior to the disability. However, in 2022, the maximum that you can receive per week is $1,099–even if your earnings were higher before the accident. You may be entitled to social security benefits also.
How Much is My Third-Party Claim Worth?
Injured workers who are entitled to file a personal injury lawsuit tend to receive higher compensation awards. However, while most injured workers in Florida are entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim, you can’t sue your employer for damages.
You can only file a lawsuit for additional damages if someone other than your employer caused your accident. These types of lawsuits are called third-party claims.
You may have a valid third-party claim against:
- An at-fault driver if you were hurt in a car accident
- Manufacturers of defective work tools or equipment
- Vendors or suppliers
- Contractors or subcontractors
- Maintenance companies
- Property owners
By filing a personal injury lawsuit, you can recover damages for your non-economic losses in addition to your medical bills and lost wages.
What Types of Damages Are Available to Workplace Accident Victims?
Workers’ compensation benefits are designed to cover your financial losses. Workers’ compensation in Florida includes benefits for:
- All reasonable and necessary medical expenses
- Disability, including temporary total disability, temporary partial disability, and permanent disability benefits
- Impairment benefits if you lose your ability to use a body part
- Death benefits
- Past and future medical expenses that aren’t covered by workers’ comp
- 100% of your lost wages, income and employment benefits
- Reduced future earning potential
- Rehabilitation and specialized care
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional suffering
- Diminished quality of life
- Physical disfigurement or scarring
- Loss of consortium
Florida personal injury laws are designed to make victims “whole” again. They’re designed to compensate for your financial, physical, and emotional losses.
Can I Recover Damages If I’m Being Blamed for a Workplace Accident in Florida?
Shared fault isn’t an issue when you file a claim for workers’ comp benefits. Workers’ compensation is a no-fault system. Even if you caused the accident, you still have the right to claim benefits.
Personal injury laws are more complex. Under Florida comparative fault laws, even injured parties can be liable for damages if they were partly to blame. For example, if you were found to be 20% liable, your personal injury settlement or verdict will be reduced by 20%.
We’ll Fight to Recover Compensation for All of Your Workplace Accident Injuries
Thousands of workers are hurt on the job every year. Any type of work injury can make it difficult to earn a living. You can count on our Jacksonville work accident attorneys to fight for fair compensation for all of your injuries, including:
- Broken bones
- Eye injuries
- Nerve damage
- Facial injuries
- Soft tissue damage
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head and neck injuries
- Musculoskeletal disorders
- Back injuries
- Organ damage
- Lung damage
- Catastrophic injuries
- Wrongful death of a loved one
You deserve to be compensated if you were hurt on the job. Call for a free case review today to learn more about how we can help.
What Causes Most Workplace Accidents in Jacksonville, Florida?
Workplace accidents can happen under many different circumstances. Some of the most common causes of work-related accidents are:
- Failure to follow state and OSHA safety regulations
- Workplace violence and negligent security
- Exposure to toxic substances
- Dangerous or defective work equipment
- Repetitive motions
- Failure to properly hire, train, and supervise employees
- Lack of fall protection
- Lack of safety equipment
- Negligent drivers
- Failure to maintain the workplace in safe condition
Our Jacksonville workers’ compensation lawyers can help you identify the cause of your accident and hold all responsible parties liable.
How Do I Prove Negligence After a Workplace Accident in Florida?
Your employer or the workers’ compensation board might argue that:
- Your accident didn’t happen on the job
- You didn’t complete your paperwork properly
- Your medical treatment wasn’t necessary
- Your doctor wasn’t approved by the workers’ comp board
- Your injuries were pre-existing
To file a lawsuit, you’ll have to prove that a third party was negligent. Any negligence claim requires establishing:
At Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers, our lawyers will build the strongest claim possible–whether your case involves workers’ compensation or a personal injury claim. Just give us a quick call for legal advice.
How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit After a Workplace Accident in Florida?
You should report your injury to your employer as quickly as possible after an accident. Technically, you have 30 days to notify your employer.
If you’re eligible to file a third-party claim, the statute of limitations in personal injury cases gives you four years to file a lawsuit.
Contact a Jacksonville Workplace Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
Did you sustain injuries in a work accident in Jacksonville? You may have multiple options for recovering compensation. An experienced Jacksonville workplace accident lawyer at Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers can help you evaluate your choices so that you maximize your compensation.
Our personal injury law firm in Jacksonville, FL also provides:
- Bicycle Accident Attorney in Jacksonville
- Boating Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL
- Car Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL
- Dog Bite Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville
- Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL
- Pedestrian Accident Attorney in Jacksonville, FL
- Product Liability Lawyer in Jacksonville
- Slip and Fall Accident Attorney in Jacksonville
- Truck Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL
- Uber Accident Lawyer in Jacksonville, FL