FAQs: Car Accident Reports in Florida
Car crashes are some of the most traumatic experiences for motorists. Even if no one is injured, a traffic collision should always be taken seriously by the parties involved, especially when reporting the incident.
If you are involved in a car crash, from a minor fender bender to a multiple-vehicle collision, you’ll have to follow a series of procedures to comply with Florida car crash laws. Learn more about how you should report a crash and what to expect after a collision.
Do You Have To Report a Car Accident in Florida?
Per Florida law, anyone involved in a collision that results in injuries or property damage must remain on the scene and contact local law enforcement. Generally, police will document the scene, talk to the parties involved, and submit a report.
Whenever the following elements apply to a crash, you or the other party must contact the police immediately:
- Bodily injury
- Intoxicated driver
- Property damage of $500 or more
Failure to comply with the law can result in fees and legal penalties, depending on the accident’s severity.
What Are the Two Types of Crash Reports Filed in Florida?
A long-form report is filed whenever:
- The collision resulted in death or injury
- One or more parties left the scene of the accident without exchanging information or rendering aid
- One or more parties were intoxicated
- One or more vehicles were damaged to the point of interoperability
- A commercial motor vehicle (CMV) was involved in the collision
A short-form report is processed whenever a crash results in less severe damage.
These reports contain basic information about the collision itself and can be submitted without the assistance of law enforcement. Some information you should be prepared to collect includes:
- Location of accident
- Description of vehicles
- Names of drivers and passengers
- Witness names and contact information
- Insurance information of parties involved
You can submit short form reports online or in person at your local DMV office.
What Happens If You Don’t Report a Crash?
Failure to report a crash is considered to be a non-criminal violation under Florida law but may still land you a penalty fee.
Whenever a crash is severe, and you flee the scene, you face additional penalties that can result in jail time if convicted.
What Car Insurance Is Required in Florida?
Florida is a no-fault state for car insurance, and the minimum requirements are as follows:
- Property damage liability of $10,000 per crash
- Personal injury protection (PIP) of $10,000 per crash
Failure to have adequate insurance when you crash can result in fees and penalties from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, including a suspended license.
What Are the Steps To Take If You’re Involved in a Car Accident
Whenever you become involved in a car accident, you must take the following precautions whenever possible:
- Remain on the scene and call the police
- Document the crash site
- Locate any witnesses and get their information
- Exchange insurance information with the other parties involved
- Seek immediate medical care if you suffered an injury
- Consult with a car accident attorney
While no two accidents will be the same, you can engage in due diligence after a crash. When you and your vehicle suffer damage from a negligent driver, you’ll want to gather as much evidence to file a claim and recover any losses down the road.
Contact the Jacksonville Car Accident Law Firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Today For Help
For more information, please contact the Jacksonville and Ponte Vedra car accident law firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers at the nearest location to schedule a free consultation today with our experienced car accident lawyers.
We serve in Duval County, St, Johns County, and its surrounding areas:
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Jacksonville
9471 Baymeadows Rd #105,
Jacksonville, FL 32256
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Ponte Vedra
480 Town Plaza Ave #130,
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32081