Call Today for a Free Consultation(904) 396-1100
Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers - Injury Law Firm in Jacksonville, FL

Personal Injury Blog

Get a free consultation

Can I Get a DUI On A Golf Cart In Jacksonville, FL? 

Most people think of DUIs as occurring on highways and involving cars, trucks, and other regular vehicles. However, DUIs can occur in various types of vehicles, including boats and golf carts. If you are injured in a golf cart accident, and you suspect it involved a drunk driver, it is essential to understand how DUI law may impact your case. 

What Is DUI?

Under Florida law, a person can be convicted of the crime of driving under the influence (DUI) if they are driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle in the state and: 

  • Are under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or certain chemical substances defined under the law to the extent their normal faculties are impaired 
  • Have a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood 
  • Have a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath

A person can be convicted of the offense if their blood alcohol level is over a certain amount or if alcohol or drugs impair their normal faculties. This can be true even when their blood alcohol level is below the standard otherwise stated in the law. 

What Is a Vehicle? 

It’s important to understand how Florida law could allow law enforcement to stop a driver of a golf cart. Florida law considers golf carts motor vehicles. Additionally, golf carts that have been modified to travel between 20 and 25 mph are considered low-speed vehicles. Low-speed vehicles can be licensed and insured to operate on public roadways. Golf carts that travel on public roadways are subject to the same laws as other types of vehicles. 

A golf cart DUI is certainly possible as there is no requirement that a person be driving a regular passenger vehicle at the time of the DUI offense. Law enforcement officers have the authority to arrest and charge drivers of golf carts for DUI. 

When Can Drivers Be Arrested for Golf Cart DUIs?

Florida officers have wide discretion to stop golf cart drivers, including for the following  infractions:

  • Driving on roads that do not permit golf carts
  • Making an illegal driving maneuver
  • Driving erratically
  • Driving an unregistered golf cart 
  • Driving with a broken taillight
  • Committing other driving offenses

Once stopped, law enforcement officers can conduct an investigation to determine if the driver was impaired by drugs or alcohol. Because Florida is an implied-consent state, drivers are required to comply with valid DUI stops. If drivers refuse testing, they can face the consequences for violating the implied consent law. 

Florida DUI Penalties

Drivers who violate Florida DUI laws can face serious penalties

For a first-time conviction, possible penalties include:

  • A fine of between $500 and $1,000
  • Up to six months jail time

A second conviction can result in a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000 and up to nine months’ incarceration. Additionally, an ignition interlock device can be installed in the offender’s vehicle at their expense. 

A third DUI conviction can result in the following:

  • A fine of between $2,000 and $5,000
  • Mandatory incarceration of at least 30 days
  • Up to 12 months in jail 
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device at the owner’s expense for two years

A fourth conviction can result in a fine of at least $2,000 and imprisonment of up to five years. 

Harsher penalties can result from extenuating factors, such as having a minor in the vehicle at the time of the offense or having a blood alcohol level of 0.15 percent or more. Harsher penalties can also result if the events resulted in a crash that involved personal injury, death, or property damage. 

How Criminal Charges for Golf Cart DUIs Can Affect Your Case

It’s important to know that a criminal conviction for DUI is not necessary for you to recover compensation for a golf cart accident. There are different standards of proof for these cases. In a civil claim, you need only show the case is more likely than not as you allege rather than the “beyond a reasonable doubt” threshold in criminal cases. That being said, the evidence obtained in a criminal case can be extremely valuable in your civil case. 

If you were injured by a drunk golf cart driver, don’t hesitate to hire an experienced golf cart accident lawyer for assistance. 

Contact the Jacksonville Golf Cart Accident Law Firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers Today For Help

For more information, please contact the Jacksonville and Ponte Vedra golf cart accident law firm of Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers at the nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.

We serve Duval County, St. Johns County, and its surrounding areas:

Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Jacksonville
9471 Baymeadows Rd #105,
Jacksonville, FL 32256
(904) 396-1100

Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Downtown Jacksonville
121 W. Forsyth St. #170,
Jacksonville, FL 32202
(904) 822-4225

Baggett Law Personal Injury Lawyers – Ponte Vedra
480 Town Plaza Ave #130,
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32081
(904) 675-1167

Call Now Button